FIONA

Fiona

background

Education

After finishing school in Ayr, I went to University and got a Bachelor of Education (Hons) with Distinction and started work as a primary teacher in Hawick in the Scottish Borders. I loved this job and looking back, in between teaching, as a staff we just spent our days laughing, partying and playing practical jokes (including the day I put a donkey behind the desk in the headmasters office!) I moved back to Ayrshire to another primary school whilst undertaking a postgraduate Diploma in Early Education but realised quickly that my days in Hawick, where I had worked with a lot of children with behavioural issues was really the route I wanted to pursue. I then got promoted to Senior teacher in a resource in Blantyre for children with social, emotional and behavioural difficulties and from there this progressed to becoming Headteacher of the South Lanarkshire Behavioural team. This was a job I actually really enjoyed although it was incredibly physically and emotionally demanding at times. I did make great friends here and cherish the perspective it has given me on life.

Family

I am from a very small family, I only have one brother- Stuart,  no cousins. There is my Mum & Dad and Aunt Nette & Uncle Rod (everyone calls them this!) and thats basically us. However I do have 3 Pongs – our amazing chocolate labradors – Kate, Kit Kat & Constance. Oh and I gained Elliot, Caitlin and Dunk!!

Equestrian

My Dad and Aunt were both horsey, in fact there is a picture somewhere of Dad holding me on the front of his saddle only a few weeks old. So I literally have had horses all my life, most memorable ones were Folly ( a biter and a bucker ) followed by Danky ( a bolter) although he would jump anything you pointed him at, including the exit gate of the show jumping arena. There was Ben a 16.2 Cleveland bay – he literally decked me very day I rode him at home (the girls actually used to write in the diary if I managed to stay on!)  However he was golden out hunting. Had several in between doing a variety of jumping, hunting and showing. When Caitlin my god daughter came along and expressed an interest in showing my equestrian life changed direction and the rest, as they say is history.

Interests

I absolutely love travelling. We have a map in the house of the world and there are pins in it where we have already been, my aim is to have the whole map covered in pins (may need to win the lottery first) Outside horses I adore skiing. We do try to go every other year to Breckenridge in Colorado, it is such a wonderful town and I feel so at home,  I would gladly retire there. I also enjoy cooking and eating out with friends.

questions

Name – Fiona Wallace

Age – 25  😉

Where are you from – Scotland

Dream Job ? Hotel Inspector

Favourite Show? Well any at the moment!

Favourite holiday or best place you have ever been? 

Hard to decide….. Favourite hot holiday probably Song Saa in Cambodia, favourite winter definitely Breckenridge, Colorado and favourite city break is Venice. I absolutely love it even if Elliot says it’s too busy and smelly!


If you were allowed anyone in the world (alive or dead) to join you while we are on lockdown, who would you pick?

Jackie Onassis


If you were to be a cartoon character which one would you be?

Tigger


Favourite music / singer?

Well probably Rod Stewart but I do love country so Mary Chapin Carpenter is close second.

Name 3 things you would like to do this summer?

Maybe go showing! Go out for dinner and go on holiday.

If you could have any superpower what would it be?

Be invisible or fly or actually both.


Interesting fact people may not know about you?

I used to live in New York and went to primary school there.


Finally what do you think is in outer space?

Lots of aliens flying around on spaceships


my gallery